About Us

Kern Economic Development Foundation was established in 2008 in response to Kern County employers’ calls for a better-prepared workforce.

Kern Economic Development Foundation is a research-based and workforce development-focused organization that links business, education, and the community.

KEDF, a 501(c)(3) organization, focuses on helping to foster a robust talent pipeline in order to fill local jobs, especially in the STEM arena.

Kern County ranks No. 4 in the nation for STEM jobs, thanks to the prevalence of energy, food processing, aerospace and defense, healthcare, and logistics/warehousing industries in the region.

Young people are a natural focus when it comes to “growing our own workforce.”  KEDF connects local professionals with high school students in our STEM-based mentoring programs, focusing largely on soft skills and providing students with a helpful resource and advisor. The organization’s signature event is the Kern County STEMposium which brings students and businesses together for a STEM expo where students showcase their best STEM projects, and businesses demonstrate equipment and skills required to be successful in the workplace.

Workforce development isn’t limited to students, though.  KEDF also offers professional development program for women in STEM careers, giving them a forum for education and networking.

KEDF strives to ensure that Kern County’s STEM industries, the most vital economic drivers in the current and future economy, have the workforce they need to be successful.


KEDF TEAM

Richard Chapman
Executive Director

Olivia Franzen
Program Assistant


KEDF BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Mark Wyatt, Chair
Principal, Bakersfield Adult School
Mark_Wyatt@kernghigh.org

Jeannie Bertolaccini, Immediate Past Chair
Principal, Ordiz- Melby Architects
jbertolaccini@ordizmelby.com

Karen Zuber, Treasurer
Senior Vice President, Bank of America
Karen.s.zuber@bofa.com

Paulina Christenson, Secretary
IT Manager, Aera Energy
PLChristenson@aeraenergy.com

Pawan Gill, Program Director
HRTP & Workforce Development, KCCD
Pawan.Gill@kccd.edu

Megan Lopez, Public Affairs
Representative, Chevron
megan.lopez@chevron.com

David Franz
Education Partnership, City of Shafter
dfranz@shafter.com

Paulette Rush
Community Relations Manager, Lightsource BP
Paulette.Rush@lightsourcebp.com

Christina Scrivner
Councilwoman, City of Tehachapi
cascrivner@icloud.com

Monica Gibbs
External Affairs, ATT
mc537r@att.com

Jenifer Pitcher
Owner, Jenifer Pitcher Consulting
jenpitcher@gmail.com

Michelle Corson
Public Relations Officer, Kern County Public Health
corsonm@kerncounty.com

Kristy Greenland
Broker Account Manager, Brand New Day Health Plan Central Valley
Kristy.greenland@universalcare.com